Term starts after the summer break with a rehearsal at the usual time of 7.45pm on Thursday 10 September 2015. Dates to note for upcoming concerts and services are detailed below, with details of the programme for each to follow asap. Watch this space!

Sat 21 Nov – 7.30 pm at St Peter’s High Cross. Mozart’s Mass in C Major (‘Sparrow Mass’)

Sat 5 Dec – 11.00 am at Gilbert White’s Museum, Selborne.

Sat 19 Dec – 6.30 pm Carol Service at Holy Trinity, Privett. (Please note, this is a SATURDAY, not Sunday.)

There will be no rehearsals on 24 or 31 December. Choir will return after the Christmas break on Thursday 8 January.

Sat 12 March 2016 – the choir will be singing in the Petersfield Musical Festival. (See additional rehearsal dates at the end of this post.)

Sat 11 June 2016 – 7.30pm Annual Summer Concert at Holy Trinity, Privett, this year joining forces with Steve Sargent’s Petersfield Choir.

Choir members, please note combined rehearsals for Petersfield Musical Festival:

At Petersfield Methodist Church, Station Road

Friday 6 November: 7.30-9.30 pm

Saturday 16 January: 10.30 am – 12.30 pm

Friday 5 February: 7.30-9.30 pm

Saturday 27 February: 2.00-4.00 pm

At Petersfield Festival Hall

Thursday 10 March: 7.00-9.30 pm

Saturday 12 March: 2.00 pm

 

This year we experimented with extending our choir year for four weeks after our annual June concert at Privett. Richard invited Jamie Hall, a BBC singer and Music Director of the Romsey Choral Society, to join us for a couple of sessions to give us much appreciated advice and tips on voice techniques. Those of us who attended thoroughly enjoyed these slightly more informal rehearsal sessions and especially our performance on the last evening on the veranda at our local, The Trooper Inn.  Conducted and accompanied by Richard on the piano (balanced on a picnic table) we sang four short pieces – As Torrents in Summer – Elgar,  Locus Iste – Bruckner, Who is Sylvia – Shearing and If you Love Me – Tallis. Our appreciative audience even persuaded us to perform an encore! It was a perfect end to the choir year and provided a welcome opportunity to enjoy a drink together. Sue Clegg, Chairman.